Posted by: sioglac | Jan 6, 2013

And on the 80th day…

Background: Today is right around my 80th day spent in Antartica during my life.

Fact: The longest, grammatically-correct sentence in the English language using a single word is, “Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo” (yes I know this off the top of my head).

Hypothesis: If you lose the “grammatically-correct” modifier, I believe I just set the record for longest sentence in the English language using a single word. A shortened version of it is: penguin penguin penguin penguin PENGUIN PENGUIN PENGUIN PENGUIN PENGUIN!!!!

I just saw my first penguin. Through a telescope, but I don’t care. A whole slew of Adelie teenagers, waddling and sliding every which way.

It’s been a quite a long week getting our team ready for our field deployment (as soon as tomorrow) and I’ll fill everyone in on that soon. But in the meantime:

P1000015

Responses

  1. Yea penguins!! Any idea how far away they were?


Leave a Reply

Categories

