Posted by: sioglac | Nov 9, 2011

And you run and you run to catch up with the sun…

…but it’s sinking.

It’s weird to feel like you’re living in a Pink Floyd song. I’m boarding a plane on my way to Antarctica in 32 hours and my “To Do” list seems to only get longer. The past 24 hours have been packed with finishing some research I’ve been putting off for way too long. That and downloading a lot of music to entertain me while driving snowmobiles for the next 2 months. If you have a favorite album, tell me about it in the comments. I need more music. Much more music.

To give you a sense of how one gets to the “deep field” in Antarctica, this is my itinerary:

  • Thursday evening: Fly San Diego to Los Angeles
  • Thursday night: Board plane from Los Angeles to Auckland, New Zealand
  • Saturday morning: Land in Auckland and fly to Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Sunday morning: Head to the Clothing Distribution Center (or the CDC, which is different from the typical CDC)
  • Monday morning (weather permitting): Fly to McMurdo Station
  • ~7 days later: Our “put-in” flight to Camp GZ

That’s a lot of plane flying. If you are interested (I would be), here are the planes I’ll be on, in order: Embraer RJ140, Airbus A330, Airbus A320, Boeing C-17 Globemaster, and finally a Lockheed LC-130. I’ll also be flying in a Twin Otter at some point.

Tonight, I’ll show you some pictures of gear. Tomorrow morning, Helen, Sasha, and I are heading to Ocean Beach Elementary School to tell them a bit about where I’m going and what I’m doing. We’re extremely excited to have them on-board and following me! But first, lunch and more research odds and ends.

And then the one day you find ten years have got behind you. No one told you when to run; you missed the starting gun.

-matt

Leave a Reply

Categories

